Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

Dream Theater - Live At Budokan

By Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

If you stop and think about how many great bands have played at Budokan and recorded a live album there, it is quite an impressive list. Everyone from Dylan to Cheap Trick has done it. Now it is time for the world’s #1 prog-rock outfit to flex their muscles at the legendary venue. Dream Theater has released Live At Budokan, an awesome three CD set along with an accompanying two DVD set for the faithful to enjoy. Count me amongst the faithful; I have been since the early 90’s when they turned around the floundering prog-rock scene with their dynamic album Images and Words.

Dream Theater has a way of combining metal, progressive, rock and fusion elements unlike any other band recording today. Their worldwide popularity speaks volumes and their eclectic brand of musical foreplay is what fuels the fire. 

Each musician in this band is a star in his own right. Mike Portnoy (drums), Jordan Rudess (keyboards), John Myung (bass), John Petrucci (guitar) and James LaBrie (vocals) are well known for their work in the band framework of Dream Theater, however their solo endeavors have also received a lot of attention and their frequent guest appearances have brought considerably more interest to each individual member of the band.

A Dream Theater set is three hours long, hence the three CDs to capture one of their shows. The sound is superb and their playing does not get any better. The atmosphere and energy at Budokan is marvelously magical. The band takes full advantage of the setting and works the crowd into one huge mass of expressive energy.

The DVD is a wonderful treat as well, giving fans that have not had the pleasure of seeing them live an opportunity to experience DT on stage. The bonus DVD takes you into the dressing room and onto the stage at a sound check with the band. It is an up close and personal look at a humble and professional group of men. I really appreciate their candor and can see how much time and effort they put into each show they perform. The outcome of the CD and DVD tells the story. 

This is a career-defining release that will leave an indelible imprint upon the history of progressive rock music. This is a must have for all DT and prog-rock enthusiast.

More Dream Theater

CD Info 

Dream Theater - Live At Budokan
Label: Rhino
1. As I am        
2. This Dying Soul        
3. Beyond This Life        
4. Hollow Years        
5. War Inside My Head        
6. The Test that Stumped Them All        
7. Endless Sacrifice        
8. Instrumedly        
9. Trial of Tears        
10. New Millennium        
11. Keyboard Solo        
12. Only a Matter of Time        
13. Goodnight Kiss        
14. Solitary Shell        
15. Stream of Conciousness        
16. Disappear        
17. Pull Me Under        
18. In the Name of God  
DISC 1: 
1. As I Am  (7:25)
2. This Dying Soul  (11:44)
3. Beyond This Life (19:37)
4. Hollow Years  (9:18)
5. War Inside My Head  (2:22)
6. The Test That Stumped Them All (5:00) 

DISC 2: 
1. Endless Sacrifice (11:16)
2. Instrumedley  (12:15)
3. Trial Of Tears (13:49)
4. New Millennium  (8:01)
5. Keyboard Solo (3:58)
6. Only A Matter Of Time (7:21) 

DISC 3: 
1. Goodnight Kiss  (6:16)
2. Solitary Shell  (5:58)
3. Stream Of Consciousness (10:54) 
4. Disappear  (5:56)
5. Pull Me Under  (8:38)
6. In The Name Of God (15:49)

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck is a veteran syndicated music critic, his reviews appear in over 35 publications world-wide. To read more of Keith’s work visit


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Journey's Neal Schon Wants To Work With Steve Perry Again- Serj Tankian Addresses System Of A Down Issues- Jack White Does Rockin' Jam With Pearl Jam- Rolling Stones- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.