. .  
.         . .
... Home | Reviews
.   .
Latest Reviews

• Prong's X - No Absolutes

• Rabid Flesh Eaters - Reign of Terror

• Coffins/Isla Split

• Haken - Affinity

• Be'lakor - Vessels

• Valdur - Pathetic Scum

• Messa - Belfry

• Die Choking - III

• Sailing to Nowhere - To The Unknown

• Black Anvil Interview

• Six Feet Under - Graveyard IV The Number of the Priest

• Destroyer 666 - Wildfire

• Onslaught - Live at the Slaughterhouse

• Rotten Sound - Abuse To Suffer

• Venomous Concept - Kick Me Silly: VC III

• The Great Discord - Duende

• Arcana 13 - Danza Macabra

• Die Choking - II

• Obsidian Kingdom - A Year With No Summer

• Thy Catafalque - Sgurr

• Denner Shermann - Masters of Evil

This Ending - Inside The Machine Review

by Matt Hensch

A Canorous Quintet was one of the most important bands to emerge from Sweden in the early 1990's to help form the Gothenburg scene along with At The Gates, Dark Tranquillity and In Flames. Unfortunately, A Canorous Quintet was the only band out of the four not to gain worldwide success and they soon disbanded in 1998. After the disbanding, several members of the band formed and joined a handful of projects including Sins Of Omission and Amon Amarth, but with such a wide range of successes for such acts A Canorous Quintet decided to reform in 2005. The reformed band changed their name to This Ending and released their first album in over eight years, "Inside The Machine."

What can you expect from the previous incarnation of a Gothenburg juggernaut? Well, some heavy melodic death metal, that's what! The melodic riffs from This Ending's previous form still remain strong within the band as Linus Nirbrant and Leo Pignon whip out riffs that contain melody and a hint of brutality. Some of the songs have a nice touch of thrash to add some intensity in the riffs, yet they always manage to sound catchy and melodic. The leads are much more exciting and agile than other Gothenburg bands because they contain elements of speed and might that most melodic death bands lack.

Mεrten Hansen's vocals are a superb part of "Inside The Machine." Hansen is similar to other melodic death singers due to his style of using death growls that sound somewhat clear and easy to understand. My favorite part of his vocals is the backing effect used during the course of the album; the backing vocals add a forceful element to the melody and they always manage to sound powerful and strong. I've heard many vocal performances by Hansen, and this is one of his best.

"Inside The Machine" is a delightful comeback record. Being a big fan of A Canorous Quintet, I can say this is a damn good album. This Ending's debut is certainly a great listen and I highly recommend it to melodic death fans.

1. Seed Of Destruction
2. Inside The Machine
3. Pitch Black
4. Plague Angel
5. Lidless Eyes
6. Armageddon
7. Nailed Down
8. Let The World Burn
9. Into Pain
10. This Ending

CD Info and Links

This Ending - Inside The Machine

Label:Metal Blade

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


The Pit Your turn to get in the pit with your thoughts about this review and CD

They call you
What do you think ?:


Thrash Worthy Link

antiMUSIC - iconoFAN - Rocknworld - Day in Rock - Rock Search - thrashPIT - iconoSTORE
Thrashpit is presented by Rocknworld.com - Part of the antiMusic Network

Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - Link to us

Copyright© 1998 - 2007 Iconoclast Entertainment Group
All rights reserved.
No Part of this site may be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.
Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use. Updated 12-19-99