. .  
.         . .
... Home | Reviews
.   .
Latest Reviews

• Prong's X - No Absolutes

• Rabid Flesh Eaters - Reign of Terror

• Coffins/Isla Split

• Haken - Affinity

• Be'lakor - Vessels

• Valdur - Pathetic Scum

• Messa - Belfry

• Die Choking - III

• Sailing to Nowhere - To The Unknown

• Black Anvil Interview

• Six Feet Under - Graveyard IV The Number of the Priest

• Destroyer 666 - Wildfire

• Onslaught - Live at the Slaughterhouse

• Rotten Sound - Abuse To Suffer

• Venomous Concept - Kick Me Silly: VC III

• The Great Discord - Duende

• Arcana 13 - Danza Macabra

• Die Choking - II

• Obsidian Kingdom - A Year With No Summer

• Thy Catafalque - Sgurr

• Denner Shermann - Masters of Evil

Obituary - Frozen Alive DVD Review

by Matt Hensch

After Obituary's eight year pause from the metal scene, the legendary Florida death metal band recorded and released the satisfying "Frozen In Time," one of the band's best records since "World Demise." Soon after the album crashed into the CD players of metalheads, Obituary embarked on a world tour that eventually led them to Poland's capital. The show in Warsaw was a different Obituary concert because the band brought a handful of cameramen with to record their first ever DVD, "Frozen Alive."

The set list on "Frozen Alive" contains most of the "Frozen In Time" album with a slab of classic Obituary tracks including "Chopped In Half" and "Slowly We Rot. I personally love "Frozen In Time," so seeing seven tracks from it is really cool to watch. The rest of the set is made up of material from every record released by Obituary. The band's stage appearance is usually exciting to watch as they continue to headbang and move around the stage while not looking stupid or clichι. The audio and visual quality couldn't be better for this show as everything from Allen West's solos to John Tardy's parched growls are heard and seen perfectly. Overall, the set list on this DVD is great and Obituary's energetic stage presence along with the stellar production helps the concert portion of "Frozen Alive" avoid any kind of boredom.

There are some extra features packed into this DVD including interviews with most of the band members, music videos, documentaries, and a drum solo, but the problem is they aren't very good. The interviews have the band members talking about Obituary's eight year hiatus, touring, writing new material and future recording plans among other interesting topics. The music vidoes aren't anything special because they just show the band playing "Insane" and "On The Floor" without any point or meaning (I personally don't care for music videos, but if you do, you might like these clips).

The documentaries just consist of mediocre camera footage of the band recording the video for "Insane" and some backstage footage after their show in Warsaw. The drum solo is the most disappointing part of this DVD because it sounds so promising upon hearing about it, yet seeing it is a totally different story. The solo was filmed with awful audio and visual quality on a camera placed way in the back of the arena; everything was caught in its whole and complete form, yet the struggle to understand what's going on isn't worth watching it. Beside the interviews, the extra material can simply be thrown away.

"Frozen Alive" is both a blessing and a curse. It has some great moments like the concert and the interviews, but it also has a load of mediocre junk like the drum solo and the music videos. If you want to see a fantastic Obituary performance, you should consider buying "Frozen Alive," but be forewarned: you won't be enjoying most of the stuff that comes with it.

CD Info and Links

Obituary - Frozen Alive DVD


Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


The Pit Your turn to get in the pit with your thoughts about this review and CD

They call you
What do you think ?:


Thrash Worthy Link

antiMUSIC - iconoFAN - Rocknworld - Day in Rock - Rock Search - thrashPIT - iconoSTORE
Thrashpit is presented by Rocknworld.com - Part of the antiMusic Network

Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - Link to us

Copyright© 1998 - 2007 Iconoclast Entertainment Group
All rights reserved.
No Part of this site may be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.
Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use. Updated 12-19-99