. .  
.         . .
... Home | Reviews
.   .
Latest Reviews

• Prong's X - No Absolutes

• Rabid Flesh Eaters - Reign of Terror

• Coffins/Isla Split

• Haken - Affinity

• Be'lakor - Vessels

• Valdur - Pathetic Scum

• Messa - Belfry

• Die Choking - III

• Sailing to Nowhere - To The Unknown

• Black Anvil Interview

• Six Feet Under - Graveyard IV The Number of the Priest

• Destroyer 666 - Wildfire

• Onslaught - Live at the Slaughterhouse

• Rotten Sound - Abuse To Suffer

• Venomous Concept - Kick Me Silly: VC III

• The Great Discord - Duende

• Arcana 13 - Danza Macabra

• Die Choking - II

• Obsidian Kingdom - A Year With No Summer

• Thy Catafalque - Sgurr

• Denner Shermann - Masters of Evil

Nahemah - The Second Philosophy Review

by Billy Gamble

Yet another European Opeth clone. Nahemah hails from Alicante, Spain and sound like a more melodic, upbeat Opeth minus the solos. Their sophomore/latest album The Second Philosophy features a series of studio effects commonly found in European metal and its ballads.

When the album begins with "Siamese," a Lacuna Coil-sounding opening is played which are all studio-produced. European studio effects usually make the metal melodic and electronic which do not go hand-in-hand in metal land. The song does hold the hope conjured by bassist Paco Porcel, who produces an interesting, progressive bass line delivered in front of the mix. Occasionally there is the outburst of true metal, like towards the end of 'Killing My Architect' but the album is more about soft-sounding melody and less about rocking out. The band uses a lot of studio effects and are more subject to making experimental electronic music than the metal advertised in the promos. An example of this is in "Today Sunshine Ain't the same" the band decides to through in an organ to the mix and some funky guitars done by Miguel Palazon and Roberto Marco while maintaining the Opeth feel.

The Second Philosophy overall has a very simple set up. The majority of the songs on the album sound similar and its contains multiple studio ballads. Nahemah are trying to capture that Opeth sound and return with the outcome of using scales that resolve to easily instead of using one a more dark evil sounding scale. The music is clichι and nothing new.

Track Listing
1. Siamese
2. Killing My Architect
3. Nothing
4. Like a Butterfly in a Storm
5. Change
6. Labyrinthine Straight Ways
7. Subterranean Airports
8. Phoenix
9. Today Sunshine Ain't the Same
10. The Speech

CD Info and Links

Nahemah - The Second Philosophy


Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


The Pit Your turn to get in the pit with your thoughts about this review and CD

They call you
What do you think ?:


Thrash Worthy Link

antiMUSIC - iconoFAN - Rocknworld - Day in Rock - Rock Search - thrashPIT - iconoSTORE
Thrashpit is presented by Rocknworld.com - Part of the antiMusic Network

Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - Link to us

Copyright© 1998 - 2007 Iconoclast Entertainment Group
All rights reserved.
No Part of this site may be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.
Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use. Updated 12-19-99