. .  
.         . .
... Home | Reviews
.   .
Latest Reviews

• Prong's X - No Absolutes

• Rabid Flesh Eaters - Reign of Terror

• Coffins/Isla Split

• Haken - Affinity

• Be'lakor - Vessels

• Valdur - Pathetic Scum

• Messa - Belfry

• Die Choking - III

• Sailing to Nowhere - To The Unknown

• Black Anvil Interview

• Six Feet Under - Graveyard IV The Number of the Priest

• Destroyer 666 - Wildfire

• Onslaught - Live at the Slaughterhouse

• Rotten Sound - Abuse To Suffer

• Venomous Concept - Kick Me Silly: VC III

• The Great Discord - Duende

• Arcana 13 - Danza Macabra

• Die Choking - II

• Obsidian Kingdom - A Year With No Summer

• Thy Catafalque - Sgurr

• Denner Shermann - Masters of Evil

Kamelot - Ghost Opera Review

by Mike Rapin

Have you ever been in between a rock and a hard place? If so, you could say you feel the same way I do. I spoke with my editor and took four or five albums on a whim, mostly with a brief description for each. Today's review is on a band called Kamelot and with their album Ghost Opera, I am stuck in between liking the album and deciding it's not worth listening to ever again (a rock and a hard place, respectively) and here is my decision:

The album starts and has you in a feeling like this could be pretty epic and damn extravagant, but things continue onward and you get the feeling that this belongs on MTV alongside bands like Korn and Avenged Sevenfold. I was thinking this could have been some cool power metal band based on the name and such, but the 'nu-metal-ness' of it all makes any kind of value worthless. The music is very simplistic and what I would call off-tone-sing-songy.

I do understand that this isn't an American album and that European 'metal' is quite different, but this stuff reminds me of music along the lines of Artrosis (see my review...) but with less moaning and more boring (yea, you have a violin, so what?). Although two or three tracks near the end get a bit heavier and not so dull, the album as a whole isn't that impressive unless your into semi-boring wanna-be metal. End all ruling: not so good.

Track Listing:
1. Solitaire
2. Rule The World
3. Ghost Opera
4. The Human Stain
5. Blόcher
6. Love You To Death
7. Up Through The Ashes
8. Mourning Star
9. Silence Of The Darkness
10. Anthem
11. EdenEcho
12. The Pendulous Fall (bonus track)

CD Info and Links

Kamelot - Ghost Opera


Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


The Pit Your turn to get in the pit with your thoughts about this review and CD

They call you
What do you think ?:


Thrash Worthy Link

antiMUSIC - iconoFAN - Rocknworld - Day in Rock - Rock Search - thrashPIT - iconoSTORE
Thrashpit is presented by Rocknworld.com - Part of the antiMusic Network

Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - Link to us

Copyright© 1998 - 2007 Iconoclast Entertainment Group
All rights reserved.
No Part of this site may be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.
Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use. Updated 12-19-99