. .  
.         . .
... Home | Reviews
.   .
Latest Reviews

Prong's X - No Absolutes

Rabid Flesh Eaters - Reign of Terror

Coffins/Isla Split

Haken - Affinity

Be'lakor - Vessels

Valdur - Pathetic Scum

Messa - Belfry

Die Choking - III

Sailing to Nowhere - To The Unknown

Black Anvil Interview

Six Feet Under - Graveyard IV The Number of the Priest

Destroyer 666 - Wildfire

Onslaught - Live at the Slaughterhouse

Rotten Sound - Abuse To Suffer

Venomous Concept - Kick Me Silly: VC III

The Great Discord - Duende

Arcana 13 - Danza Macabra

Die Choking - II

Obsidian Kingdom - A Year With No Summer

Thy Catafalque - Sgurr

Denner Shermann - Masters of Evil

Brazil - The Philosophy Of Velocity Review

by Mike Rapin

I had first heard of Brazil about 4 years ago on a sampler for Fearless Records and being a ninth grader, I was blown away by the awesomeness of the song "Monolithic," so when I saw that this band was releasing a new album I was damn excited. It turns out there have been some line-up changes and I'll come out and say that things may have gotten a bit "sh*tty."

Brazil's The Philosophy Of Velocity hit me like a bag of brick-shaped babies. I was quite confused to hear not-so-good-indie music in place of the alt-punk sound I was hoping for--yea, I just said alt-punk. Throughout the album I felt like my clothes should be more brown and made of wool, except for my pants which should be corduroys and still brown. Mind you, this music isn't terrible but instead a different genre of music than what I was really hoping for.

Jonathon Newby's vocal styling and sound are still what they were back in 9th grade: powerful. I was glad that that at least that didn't change. But really, outside of that one nuance, everything is just too damn mellow. The album progresses and things just begin to sound like a terrible Pink Floyd rip-off mixed with some typical indie piano or something of that nature.

This Philosophy Of Velocity is definitely something meant for sad kids and most definitely not for someone looking for an awesome time. I was bored for most of the album, but kept listening in hopes that something good would present itself, and it did... the end of the album.

Track Listing :
1. On Safe-Cracking and Rubella
2. Crime (and the Antique Solution)
3. You Never Know
4. The Vapours
5. Cameo
6. Candles (Cast Long Shadows)
7. Au, Revoir, Mr. Mercury
8. Captain Mainwaring
9. A Year in Heaven
10. The Remarkable Cholmondley Chute System
11. Breathe
12. Strange Days

More Rapin at http://www.mikerapin.com/

CD Info and Links

Brazil - The Philosophy Of Velocity

Label:Immortal Records

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


The Pit Your turn to get in the pit with your thoughts about this review and CD

They call you
What do you think ?:


Thrash Worthy Link

antiMUSIC - iconoFAN - Rocknworld - Day in Rock - Rock Search - thrashPIT - iconoSTORE
Thrashpit is presented by Rocknworld.com - Part of the antiMusic Network

Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - Link to us

Copyright© 1998 - 2007 Iconoclast Entertainment Group
All rights reserved.
No Part of this site may be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.
Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use. Updated 12-19-99