. .  
.         . .
... Home | Reviews
.   .
Latest Reviews

Prong's X - No Absolutes

Rabid Flesh Eaters - Reign of Terror

Coffins/Isla Split

Haken - Affinity

Be'lakor - Vessels

Valdur - Pathetic Scum

Messa - Belfry

Die Choking - III

Sailing to Nowhere - To The Unknown

Black Anvil Interview

Six Feet Under - Graveyard IV The Number of the Priest

Destroyer 666 - Wildfire

Onslaught - Live at the Slaughterhouse

Rotten Sound - Abuse To Suffer

Venomous Concept - Kick Me Silly: VC III

The Great Discord - Duende

Arcana 13 - Danza Macabra

Die Choking - II

Obsidian Kingdom - A Year With No Summer

Thy Catafalque - Sgurr

Denner Shermann - Masters of Evil

Apiary - Lost in Focus Review

by Mike Rapin

Random, repetitious hardcore with a touch of crazy. This is what describes Apiary when I think of their latest release, Lost in Focus.

Like a punch to the temple, drummer Adam Elliott busts out some power drum blasts throughout the CD which, for the most part, kick major ass. This CD features major talent on the percussive side of things, and this definitely make the CD worthwhile.

To complement the drums, a pair of talented guitarists express their strength via musical prowess to add to Apiary's usually unorganized sound. Using some of the same sounding riffs and off sounding chords, guitarists Peter Layman and Mike McClatchey, although very talented, create a sound of confusion in metal that could almost make someone crave a decent melody for once. But I shall not forget bassist Dave Small, for his part is no smaller than any other. It is quite amazing to think that he, as a bassist, can keep up with the crazy beats and changes of the song with his massive bass notes, and from time to time, you can hear him slapping down on with true fury. 'Tis quite a feat.

To finish off the band, vocalist Jason Ingram screams his lungs out in an almost-always monotone rasp, and occasionally adding in some creepy talked-out lyrics that make me not want to listen to this CD at night. Overall, the CD is good if you're into a mass of beat changes on each song and some dragging repetition of riffs and such (which would almost remind you of Norma Jean in a sense). But the repetition from song to song of the same f**king off-chords in the tone of each song can get annoying.

Track Listing:
Pain Is The Reason
Bliss In Vain
Forced To Breath
Peril's Divinity
Solidified Foundation
Fading Imprint
The Walls Are Permanent
Finding A Way Back

CD Info and Links

Apiary - Lost in Focus

Label:Ironclad / Metal Blade

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

What do you think? Discuss this review on the Thrash Board

tell a friend about this review



Thrash Worthy Link

antiMUSIC - iconoFAN - Rocknworld - Day in Rock - Rock Search - thrashPIT - iconoSTORE
Thrashpit is presented by Rocknworld.com - Part of the antiMusic Network

Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - Link to us

Copyright© 1998 - 2007 Iconoclast Entertainment Group
All rights reserved.
No Part of this site may be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.
Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use. Updated 12-19-99