Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Flaw - Endangered Species 
by Curtis Harrington 

Here we have FLAWís sophomore album, "Endangered Species". When I picked up this CD, I fell in love with the cover shot--Props for that. But the actual CD is a different story. 

12 Flaw'ed Steps

1. Medicate-the CD starts off with a hard hitting metal song. But, looking through the thick metal riffs, I hear obvious song structure, that I hear too much. You know what I mean: verse, chorus, verse, chorus, bridge, chorus. It has some potential, needs some more creativity. 

2. Endangered Species-this is where I realized why they sounded so familiar. These boys sound an awful lot like Disturbed. This song was a more melodic rock song, with the lyrics a little... obvious. Speaking of obvious, song structure. Strike two. 

3. Recognize-so far, it seems that the songs have been getting progressively slower. Although, the upper of this song is that it doesnít have such an obvious song structure. They mix it up a little. So far, Iím not a big fan. 

4. Wait For Me-CORRECT I AM!! The songs are getting slower. Iím predicting by song 12, they wonít even be playing music (dare I dream). This song is more of an acoustic ďballad.Ē The lyrics are a little whiney and over done. It really takes away from their tough image. Sounds almost christian. 

5. Many Faces-ah, back to the more up beat rock. I guess he finished crying. Itís still a little slow, but I was probably asking for too much. The biggest downer of this CD is the obvious song structure. Yes, if this was a baseball game, they would be out (strike 3 FLAW, strike 3). The lyrics sound very confused. I didnít
think he was trying to make any kind of a point... I hope not. 

6. All the Worst-Iím pretty sure they gave up trying to make a rock album. I have to respect a band that can totally switch genres during the album. The thing I noticed about this song (aside from pathetic lyrics) is that it has the exact same song structure as the first song. Breathtaking. 

7. Youíve Changed-No, buddy, youíve changed... youíve changed. Within the last 20 minutes. This song is a lot harder than the past 5 tracks. They still sound like Disturbed, the lyrics still require no thought, and it is still predictable. 

8. Turn the Tables-surprise, the song begins to slow down. Itís all a pattern. I have a feeling the next song will be slower. SONG  STRUCTURE, SONG STRUCTURE!! Kill me. 

9. Worlds Divide-Guess who was right! The song slows tremendously. The lyrics fail to provoke thought. Honestly, all the songs seem to say the same thing. Still presenting their thoughts with a lame dose of crap music. 

10. Not Enough- This song speeds up a little. Wait a minute... the song Not Enough is actually track 12. Shame, shame. 

11. Final Cry-this is the right song. That's a good thing... unfortunately, that is the ONLY good thing. What do you expect? Hopefully not quality. 

12. (see track 10... but vice-versa) 

CD Info 

Flaw - Endangered Species 
Label: Universal
Endangered Species
Wait For Me
Many Faces
All The Worst
You've Changed
Turn The Tables
Worlds Divide
Final Cry
Not Enough
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online


News Reports
ē Day in Rock:
Lamb Of God's Mark Morton Streams Chester Bennington Collaboration- Rush Members To Make Special Appearance- Unreleased David Bowie Tracks In New Collection- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock

. .


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.