Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Hot Hot Heat – Elevator
by Eric Bodrero

2002’s Makeup The Breakdown saw Hot Hot Heat breaching the alternative rock scene with a fury, introducing fans to a new and unique way to listen to alternative music. Now, with the release of Elevator, the band’s sophomore set, we see (and hear) the band delving into a more experimental frame of mind, jamming in diverse ways, and coming up with fourteen tracks of new material that’s distinctive, full of character, and bursting at the seams with originality.

These unsullied new tracks manage to be quite conspicuous, complete with a sparkly sheen despite the sudden moss-like growth of new bands, both from the U.K. and the U.S, with the same sort of intention: to reach out to fans with jangly guitar hooks, comical lyrics, and quirky, over-the-top keyboards, complete with bells, whistles and handclaps to boot. 

What Hot Hot Heat possess that other bands lack however, is the eccentric, crooning voice of one Steve Bays. I find it hard to imagine any other vocalist getting away with this style of delivery, and get away with it he does and then some. Nowhere is this more apparent then on “Shame On You” and “Goodnight Goodnight”, which has him really cultivating his arty style. Other standout tracks include the opener “Running Out Of Time” and “Island Of The Honest Man.” Actually, there really isn’t a dud on the whole album although some of these tracks have been done before, and a little better at that. 

As a whole however, Elevator is a great listen from start to finish, adding another impressive chapter to the already super popular band. Hot Hot Heat sound comfortable: comfortable with their style, comfortable with their poise, and most importantly, comfortable with themselves, which is a breath of fresh air in this world of corporate hee-haw and mounting pressure to make music as fast as possible, no matter the cost. Kudos to Hot Hot Heat for doing it so elegantly. 

CD Info 

Hot Hot Heat – Elevator
Label: Sire Records
  1. Introduction 
  2. Running Out Of Time 
  3. Goodnight Goodnight 
  4. Ladies And Gentlemen 
  5. You Owe Me An IOU 
  6. No Jokes-Fact 
  7. Jingle Jangle 
  8. Pickin' It Up 
  9. Island Of The Honest Man 
  10. Middle Of Nowhere 
  11. Dirty Mouth 
  12. Soldier In A Box 
  13. Untitled 
  14. Shame On You 
  15. Elevator 
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

Want More?

Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

Visit the Official Website for more on the band


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Foo Fighters Jam With Red Hot Chili Peppers Star- Minus The Bear Announce Farewell Tour and Final EP- The Moody Blues' John Lodge Announce Solo Tou - more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.