Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

Elvis Costello and the Imposters – The Delivery Man 
By Zane Ewton

Elvis Costello is an artist who has reached the point where he can do whatever he wants without the need to worry about record sales or fashionable music videos.  He has recorded over 20 albums, is an accomplished composer who just released his first classical album, and is certifiably a music icon.

But with The Delivery Man, Costello has written an old fashioned rock and roll record, steeped in country, blues and soul.  Don’t let the term “old fashioned” fool you though, this is a new, fresh sounding album. The Delivery Man is a mixture of rough and shiny elements; it might also be the best album Costello has done in years.

Emmylou Harris shares vocals with Costello on a few songs and also provides backup on a few others.  Both Costello and Harris have great voices that work well with each other.  The musicianship is top notch.  Costello’s backing band, The Imposters, includes Steve Nieve, Davey Faragher, Pete Thomas and John McPhee. 

What makes The Delivery Man a great album is how strong the songs are. They sound focused and have been cared for.  Costello started The Delivery Man as a concept album but by rearranging the track order and omitting songs the original narrative is nowhere to be found.  While the story is dismantled the songs are still cohesive; remaining as vivid as a good movie.

For this man to be born in Liverpool, England he writes some of the most convincing country songs.  These are real country songs.  Not like what you hear on the radio today.  Costello is fantastic at writing intelligent, thoughtful lyrics that never seem forced or misplaced.  The Delivery Man appears to be put together effortlessly, each song an extension of talent and love for music.

The Delivery Man is a thoroughly enjoyable album.  Many artists who have reached the age that Costello is at either try too hard or don’t try at all.  But Elvis Costello continues to do exactly what he has wants to do.  When the results are as satisfying as The Delivery Man it is hard to argue with his intentions.

CD Info 

Elvis Costello and the Imposters – The Delivery Man
Label: Lost Highway Records
Tracks (according to CD Universe):
Button My Lip
Country Darkness
There's A Story In Your Voice
Either Side Of The Same Town
Delivery Man, The
Monkey To Man
Nothing Clings Like Ivy
Name Of This Thing Is Not Love, The
Heart Shaped Bruise
Needle Time
Judgement, The
Scarlet Tide, The
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

Want More ?

tell a friend about this article

News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Foo Fighters Jam With Red Hot Chili Peppers Star- Minus The Bear Announce Farewell Tour and Final EP- The Moody Blues' John Lodge Announce Solo Tou - more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.