Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

Collective Soul – Youth
By Zane Ewton

The band that had those songs on the radio that you liked but could never remember the name of has returned. 

Four years since their last album, Collective Soul has returned with Youth, a title that implies a renewed sense of purpose and an excitement for the music.  That is good news coming from one of the more successful bands of the late nineties.  Collective Soul has enjoyed a steady string of radio hits since “Shine” from their debut album. However, the band has been quiet since their 2000 misstep Blender.

The long wait is over and it appears that the quiet period for the band has had positive results as Youth is an upbeat album.  Bandleader Ed Roland has a talent for writing solid, memorable songs.  Unfortunately his albums can be uneven, for every good song there seems to be two or three that are forgettable.  This isn’t necessarily the case on Youth as there are really only two or three weak tracks on the whole album.  

One of Collective Soul's strengths is they have a distinct sound, Roland’s voice and the guitars are some of the most recognizable sounds on the radio in the last 10 years.  The band is at their best when they play to those strengths.  Roland has a habit of making many of his songs too busy with samplers, like the lead-off track “Better Now”, where the songs has too much going on. On the other hand, tracks like “Counting the Days” and “Him” are where Youth is strongest, relying on Roland’s melodies and appealing guitar riffs.

Youth has the high production value of the previous albums.  Roland serves as the producer and each album has the feeling that every note has been accounted for.  Collective Soul has never been a progressive band but they use the tried and true formula so well that it is hard to argue the results.

While Youth is not as immediately memorable as Collective Soul, it is definitely a step in the right direction.  Expect to hear the songs on the radio a lot, as “Counting the Days” is already on heavy rotation.  Maybe you will remember the band’s name this time around.

CD Info 

Collective Soul – Youth
Label: El Music Group
Tracks (according to CD Universe):
 Better Now
There's A Way
How Do You Love?
Feels Like (It Feels All Right)
Perfect To Stay
Counting The Days
Under Heaven's Skies
General Attitude
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

Want More ?

tell a friend about this article

News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Guns N' Roses Stream Acoustic Version Of 'Move To The City'- Queen Reveal Full Bohemian Rhapsody Biopic Trailer- Robert Plant Adds New Leg To U.S. Carry Fire Tour - more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.