Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Is it a hit, *hit or miss?
The Cure – The Cure
by Zane Ewton

The rumors surrounding The Cure for the past four years have been that Bloodflowers would be the band’s swan song and Robert Smith would be focusing on a solo career.

After the tour in support of Bloodflowers, Smith found himself enjoying the band again.  He completed a solo album, but favored the idea of doing another Cure album.  So in January of 2004, the band reconvened and began recording their twelfth studio album which would become The Cure.  Smith joined forces with  Ross Robinson to produce the album. 

The first single, "The End of the World” is a good introduction to the rest of the album, as it is in the middle of the road of emotions covered.

The Cure is very much a guitar album.  Ranging from the acoustic flourish of “Taking off” to the abrasion of “Us or Them”, the album is clearly guitar oriented and guitar driven.  Smith went back to the same 4-track that he used to record The Head on the Door, and found inspiration in using only 4 tracks to create as many noises as possible. 

With some old guitar pedals he had, he went about writing songs.  The true strength of the album is in the songwriting--Simply put, there are 11 exceptional songs on this album.

The vocals really make this album stand out.  The lyrics themselves become an integral part of the songs and the music would not be the same without them.  Smith sounds defiantly confident on this album which could be directly attributed to his newfound contentment with the band.

For those worried that the Cure has gone happy, you can relax as there are all of the moods and contents that have been scattered throughout the band’s career.  There are themes of loneliness, romance and alienation.

The lead-off track, “Lost” is a slow dirge that builds into a pulsing thump that just begins the roller coaster of emotions that ends but isn’t resolved with “The Promise”. 

The Cure is cohesive with never a dull moment.  This album feels like a new beginning for The Cure. 

Now that's you've seen the quick take on the CD, be on the lookout for the upcoming "Legends" feature on The Cure as Zane looks at what made The Cure legendary. 

CD Info 

The Cure – The Cure
Label: Geffen
Hit, *hit or Miss: Hit
Before Three
End Of The World, The
Us Or Them
Alt. end
(I Don't Know What's Going) On
Taking Off
Promise, The
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Muse Release New Video 'Something Human'- Def Leppard Streaming Unexpected Cover- Billy Joel Jams With Bruce Springsteen At Milestone Concert- David Bowie Box Set- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.