Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Laguardia - Welcome to the Middle
By Tim Byrnes

Welcome to the Middle is as strong a first shot across the bow as I've heard in a while. The Philadelphia quartet show up on their debut CD with the confidence of veterans. Which is pretty much the case. These guys have been together since August, 2000, honing their material and getting their stage bones in New York City before touring across the country with all the drafty vans and lumpy couches which that implies. Signing with Universal in early 2003, they released this CD in September of that year, throwing themselves to the head of the pack in the many Best New Artist polls. A listen to this CD tells me why. 

The record's opener ˜Roseanna' features singer/guitarist Joshua Ostrander's yearning, Bono-esque (and I know it's unfair to compare singers, but Ostrander and Bono both have voices that make the hair on the back of my neck stand up in exactly the same way) vocals skating a lake of intricate lacelike barbed wire arrangement, the guitars and keys and rhythm section swerving and slithering around each other, forming an entirety far greater than the sum of it's parts. 

˜Holy Ghost' is on the art/punk drama tip, sounding like a car crash involving Radiohead and the Dead Boys. There's a swagger to this band's intellectualism, a smartness in their strut. The thing I like most about this CD, and I hope it's a portent of things to come from more bands, is their eclecticism. 

Laguardia seem to understand the oscillating attraction of blowing minds and shaking bootys. (Booties?) For every section that's claustrophobic to the point of slight insanity, there's a section that draws from the soul well and lifts off and up and out into the listener's world view, setting something important free, sometimes in the same song as is the case with my favorite cut on Middle, ˜Butterflies'.

Slow, sepulchral and atmospheric movements countered with jagged, guitar driven sharp sticks to the eye, wrapped up in intriguing production that illuminates, but never masks the music adds up to one of the best CDs to come down my pike in a while. I hope Laguardia sticks around; I can't wait to see where they go next. We're gonna need ˜em ˜cause, from what I understand, the next Radiohead CD is gonna be so hip that only dolphins will be able to hear it.

CD Info 

Laguardia - Welcome to the Middle
Label: Universal
Holy Ghost
Duct Tape
Bull Ride
Sleep Over (116 Overture)
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

Want More ?

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Foo Fighters Jam With Red Hot Chili Peppers Star- Minus The Bear Announce Farewell Tour and Final EP- The Moody Blues' John Lodge Announce Solo Tou - more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.