Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Yesterday & Today: Kansas 
By Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

Well another Kansas boxed set has hit our shores. That old ship is still sailing right along. It comes as no surprise that the popularity of this band has not waned over the years. Their staying power is evident with this three-disc set (two CDs and one DVD). You can still hear “Carry on Wayward Son” playing on the radio frequently, after all that is one of the songs that defined an era. Clearly, it was more than just a 70’s thing. The musical juggernaut called Kansas has continued strongly into the new millennium, and they show no signs of slowing down.

This is without a doubt the finest package that the band has released to date. The only thing that is left is a full-blown career spanning boxed including all their studio albums, rarities and outtakes. Of course, now you can get all of that from the recently remastered set of albums released earlier this year.

This music never ceases to amaze me, no matter how many times I hear a Kansas song I pick up something different. They were, and remain an amazing unique band.  Besides all of the best tracks from their career, now longtime fans get the best treat of all, live concert footage from the early Don Kirschner’s Rock Concert days, which I remember well, even though I was a crazed teenager back then. Included are old videos from the Monolith album period and more.

This is the definitive and ultimate Kansas boxed set, so far. Funny, I said that about the Ultimate Kansas set too. I cannot wait to see what will come out next. I can never get enough of this band.

CD Info 

Kansas - The 30th Anniversary Collection
Label: Epic/Legacy Recordings

Disc: 1
1. Can I Tell You  
2. Journey from Mariabronn  
3. Song for America 
4. Lamplight Symphony  
5. Icarus (Borne on Wings of Steel)  
6. Pinnacle  
7. Child of Innocence  
8. Carry on Wayward Son  
9. Cheyenne Anthem 
10. Miracles Out of Nowhere 
11. What's on My Mind  
Disc: 2
1. Point of Know Return  
2. Portrait (He Knew)  
3. Dust in the Wind  
4. Lightning's Hand  
5. Sparks of the Tempest  
6. Paradox [Live]  
7. People of the South Wind  
8. Hold On  
9. Get to Rock On          
10. Play the Game Tonight  
11. Fight Fire With Fire
12. All I Wanted  Listen 
13. Rainmaker  Listen 
14. Desperate Times  Listen 
15. Eleanor Rigby  Listen 
16. Icarus II  
Disc: 3
1. Can I Tell You          
2. Journey from Mariabronn          
3. Death of Mother Nature Suite          
4. Icarus (Borne on Wings of Steel)          
5. Pinnacle          
6. Point of Know Return [Multimedia Track]          
7. Dust in the Wind [Multimedia Track]          
8. On the Other Side [Multimedia Track]          
9. People of the Sound Wind [Multimedia Track]          
10. Reason to Be [Multimedia Track]          
11. Away from You [Multimedia Track]  
12. Fight Fire With Fire [Multimedia Track]          
13. All I Wanted [Multimedia Track]          
14. Preacher [Live]          
15. Miracles Out of Nowhere [Live]          
16. Carry on Wayward Son [Live]  

Want More ?

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck is a veteran syndicated music critic, his reviews appear in over 35 publications world-wide. To read more of Keith’s work visit

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
Day in Rock:
All That Remains' Oli Herbert Killed In Accident- Slipknot Making Special Plans For 20th Anniversary- Dave Grohl Announces Live Debut For Epic Solo Song 'Play'- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock

. .


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.