Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Sarah Mclachlan - Mirrorball: The Complete Concert Review

by Morley Seaver

Coming seven years after the single disc CD was released, Sarah fans get a Christmas treat with the complete live show on a two-CD set. This is the audio version of the DVD which was released a few years back. More satisfying than the original, this gives the set a much better pacing than the kind of choked out feeling I got from the single disc when I first heard it.

This is an excellent set that closed out the massive tour that Sarah did in '98/'99 in the wake of her breakthrough records Fumbling Towards Ecstasy and Surfacing. The 23 songs stretch to almost 2 hours and covers her library of (at the time) 4 records. The show was recorded in Portland and her rabid audience is evident from the frenzied response to the first few chords of "Building a Mystery". Her vocals are spot on as would expect from someone with such storied pipes and she brings a deep passion to her lyrics, curling her voice around each and every syllable.

As to be expected when performing songs for a long time, arrangements tend to change either to chase off boredom or to better reflect the artist's updated mindset to a melody or lyric. With both "Plenty", "Mary" and "Hold On", the live renderings do not have the stark quality of the studio versions. While still enjoyable, they lose a bit of the urgency that enveloped the originals. "Hold On", in particular, a song about a friend dying of AIDS, seems almost serene in delivery instead of the desperate, almost hopeless ambience of the "Fumbling…" version.

I've always experienced (not listened to) Sarah's vocals in the way that I imagine heroin or methadone addicts convert the drug into the warm, sunlight-basking qualities that they can cocoon with for the next few hours. Though I gravitate more towards her exceptional first two records, Vox and Solace, her honey-hued voice continues to cast its spell. Although the more subdued material gives her a chance to spread her voice out like spider webs from note to note, she also shines on the more upbeat material. "Vox" is positively bouncy while "Building a Mystery" and "Into the Fire" are foot moving. None are more impressive however than one of her jewels, a muscular set-closing version of "Possession" that ends off with Sarah holding the note to a jaw-dropping length, clearly the defining moment of the concert.

Mirrorball - The Complete Concert captivates you from beginning to end and is a perfect representation of an artist that is as adept in a live setting as she is in the studio.

CD Info and Links

Sarah Mclachlan - Mirrorball: The Complete Concert

Label:Legacy Recordings

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Music Legend Aretha Franklin Dead At 76- Disturbed Release New Video And Announce 'Adventurous' Album- Another AC/DC Sighting At Recording Studio- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.