Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

Me and Heath - Acoustic Hip-Rock Review

It's more than just a design gimmick that Me & Heath are joined by a treble clef in place of the traditional ampersand. Music, literally and figuratively, joins this band. That's right Me & Heath is actually made up of (wait for it) Heath and claiming the right to the anonymous, multi-purpose Me title are (with their fitting press kit descriptors): T. Nut: vocal harmony &guitar invasion, Mr. Cash'in: lead guitar, Big Benny: sonic boomin' bass, Samerai the 7th: lyrical sniper, Jaxon Camaero: guitar acrobatics, and TJ: guitar and vocals. Rocc Bizzy (who appears in promo material but not on this CD): percussion artillery.

If the first track "Goin'On" doesn't elicit the oral equivalent of a double-take because you'll swear you're hearing a young Stevie Wonder, then you're not paying close enough attention. Through some magical production nimbleness (yup, it's a word) both the front lyrical and the back rap voices blend, mesh and seemingly effortlessly complement each other. Crisp, creative and memorable: How else could you describe a tune that includes a reference to Napoleon Dynamite? Like the indie film of the same name, me & Heath is (or should be) a shoe-in for generating the same type of cult following (hopefully minus the copycat blond 'fro and the "Vote For Pedro" Tee). In "Outta Control", Me & Heath alludes to that type of success too: "A new sound in town, keep you your eyes peeled. F***k stealing third, we're taking the whole field." That baseball analogy slips into the band's words of appreciation on their liner notes too: "Thank you to all of our Family, Friends and Fans, you have been with us since the top of the first and will be there for us when we go into extra innings."

Different (slightly more aggressive) but the same (vocals are front and centre), "Whiskey" reflects the entire 5-track CD's approach to this hybrid of musical approach. Acoustic Hip-Rock graciously allows each element of each track to shine independently yet it maintains a musical cohesiveness sometimes lacking in this new genre (or cleverly reworked old genres). How? Through superb guitar riffs, perfectly pitched, layered and mixed harmonies, lyrics that are smart without being smug, uplifting without being cheesy. Now, one (admittedly strained) final baseball reference: A hit by any other name…

CD Info and Links

Me and Heath - Acoustic Hip-Rock

Label:me and heath

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Black Sabbath Star Reacts To Ozzy's Bad Vibes Comments- Slipknot May Make Knotfest A Touring Festival- Ace Frehley Streams New Song and Announce Special TV Appearance- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.