Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
The Subways - Young For Eternity Review
By Rob Nipe

I'm hard pressed to find something to say about this album. I'm not loving it and I'm not hating it. It is just there. The main problem I have with the album is that it is unabashedly simplistic. It is a rock album. And that is it. It breaks down rock into basic parts-guitar, bass, drums, and vocals-and just goes. But it doesn't go anywhere. I kept waiting for something to happen and I'm still waiting.

I don't think that there is anything wrong with simple. The first Violent Femmes album is the most stripped down sounding album that rocks harder than any amped up guitar sound could. As a listener, you are grabbed from the first track and abducted only to find yourself ten songs later, shaken on the street corner, filled with leftover adrenaline from the thrashing you've just received and regret for enjoying it as much as you did. There is no visceral reaction to be found at the end of the twelve songs on Young For Eternity,. I just feel like I've been yelled at by a couple of British kids. There was no real emotion to be felt behind these songs. I'm reminded of a Weekend Update skit on Saturday Night Live where Amy Poehler played Avril Lavigne. She just starts yelling,

"NO!!! I'm a punk rocker! I'm wearing a boy's tanktop! Look at my mad face! Bleaaah!! F it up! Suck it! Look! Watch! [ holds her hand up in a backwards peace sign ] That's the English middle finger! Wrap your minds around that! I don't know who David… Bow-ie is… or the Sex… Pie-stols... I'm, like, 17, and they're, like, 100! So… [ makes mad face ] ..bleaaahh!!"

There is just a lot of going through the motions of how a rock album "should" sound without being able to point to "why" it sounds like that. Trust me, "it sounds cool" isn't an answer.

One of the best tracks on the album is the first one, "I Want To Hear What You Have Got To Say." It is the perfect introduction to the band. They show the best that they have to offer all in one song. The song starts quietly with Bill Lunn singing sweetly if not kind of awkwardly "Another day is here and I am still alive/I say these words aloud, they speak of the inside" while his guitar strums softly. The drums come pounding in and the song builds and builds. When the band is almost at full tilt, Charlotte Cooper, the bassists, chimes in and changes up the dynamic a little bit with her voice. And they pound their way on to the end. It really showcases all the tricks the band has to offer and does it pretty well. Unfortunately, after this first promising debut, the album goes downhill with a particular low point being the tune "Oh Yeah". The vocals of that song are limited to what seems like only three notes in what can only be described as an effort to match the three chords the song uses. The world may never know.

That said, I think I could unequivocally say that I think The Subways probably put on a great live show. I would think the simplistic nature of the songs would lend itself pretty well to being very dynamic on the stage itself. To believe the press clippings about the band, it can be the only explanation that I can think of for the broad appeal of The Subways. So I would suggest that you see them live first and then check out the album. And while you do that, I'll just be here…waiting…

CD Info and Links

The Subways - Young For Eternity

Label:Sire Records

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Journey's Steve Perry New Album Details Revealed- Lindsey Buckingham Announces Post Fleetwood Mac Tour- Megalife: The Autobiography Of Nick Menza Set For Release- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.