Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

The Strokes - First Impressions of Earth
By Eric Bodrero


NYC's The Strokes are a band who were supposed to reinvent rock n' roll with their quirky, tongue-in-cheek, nonchalant approach to music, and with the practically overnight success of their first record Is This It, they almost did. However, on their sophomore effort Room on Fire, the Strokes were accused of making Is This It part II. It was now time for reinvention with lucky number three.


First Impressions of Earth is the Strokes latest effort, and it strives to break out of the stereotypical mold they've created for themselves. Recording sessions with mastermind Nigel Godrich of Radiohead fame started strong but quickly came to a premature close, leaving the Strokes to revert back to Is This It's Gordon Raphael to finish the album. Something must have been lost in translation however, as this album sees the Strokes trying almost too hard to lose the sophomore slump curse, and comes off a little flat. Singer/songwriter Julian Casablancas sounds lost on some tracks, like he doesn't quite know how or where to take the producer's direction. 'Vision of Division' is a sour example of this. 'Ask Me Anything' is a harsh foreshadowing of reality in the line "I've got nothing to say" which Casablancas repeats over and over again. Then there's the classic and profound "Don't be a coconut/ God is trying to talk to you." Huh? Perhaps what God is trying to say is quit with the nonsensical BS and write something interesting. Oh kidding! We all love the Strokes, right?

Not all tracks are lost however, as the opener 'You Only Live Once' lives up to anything on Is This It or Room on Fire, and the dynamic nature of 'Razorblade' could arguably be the best example of where the Strokes were trying to take this album with its contagious melody and hum-able lyrics. 'On the Other Side' and 'Electricityscape' are also great showcase tracks with some impressive guitar work layered throughout.


So where do the Strokes go from here? Let's hope with one hugely successful album, one quick and loud bang and one fairly unimpressive splat, the Strokes realize the downward spiral they could be racing down, and do something to remedy it.


Why make another album? The Strokes are all about rock n' roll, and at their best, they do a damn fine job of it (Heck, even at their worst they are light years ahead of some). One mediocre album (and some will undoubtedly and heartily disagree with the word mediocre), doesn't ruin a career…necessarily. It's how you pick yourself back up, dust yourself off, and push forward…or not, that determines if you fail.


How will the Strokes push forward? Same as they always have, I guess. However, barring the success of First Impressions of Earth, which at this early juncture doesn't look especially hopeful, I think, instead of trying to reinvent the wheel in which some bands live or die by, the Strokes should just find their flow and stick to it, using subtle production changes, arrangements, and wizardry that they are familiar with and that only the best producers would notice, and not worry so much about what others think of them…including me!

CD Info and Links

The Strokes - First Impressions of Earth


Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Muse Release New Video 'Something Human'- Def Leppard Streaming Unexpected Cover- Billy Joel Jams With Bruce Springsteen At Milestone Concert- David Bowie Box Set- more

• Day in Pop Dead & Company Hit Milestones On Summer Tour- Uli Jon Roth Announces 50th Anniversary Tour Dates- Unseen And Heard Leonard Cohen 1972 Tour Rediscovered- more

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.