Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

 Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers / Lickerish / Savage City
 The Coach House - San Juan Capistrano, CA - 30 June 2006
by Gary Schwind


Savage city is a large ensemble with guitar, bass, keyboards, drums, trumpet, two tenor saxophones and the vocals of Deanna Savage. Deanna has a big voice similar to Candye Kane. At the beginning of their set, her vocals weren't coming through the sound system as strong as the rest of the band, but that condition was remedied as the set went on.

Savage City played a high-energy set featuring "I Feel Lucky," "Old School," and "Don't Roll Them Bloodshot Eyes at Me" among others. "Old School" is the tune where Deanna Savage most reminded me of Candye Kane.

Midway through the set, Deanna left the stage while the band played an instrumental, featuring scat vocals by the trumpet player. It was pretty well done, and overall, it was a good opening set.

Lickerish began their set with "Killing Floor" from their just-released CD. I noticed that Lloyd Kermode played an electric guitar for this set. Last time I saw them, he played an acoustic. It changes the sound, but not drastically so. Another thing I noticed was the energy level. Savage City had displayed a lot of energy on the stage, and while Lickerish has only three members, they weren't lacking in energy.

The songs Lickerish played were shorter than the versions of those songs on their CD. They seemed to play with a sense of urgency, leaving very little time between songs. Maybe there was a sense of urgency to fit in all their songs in the allotted time. Personally, I think it's a good thing. You could tell that they were there to play and not to regale you with tales of what had happened to them during the week. I'd say they did a pretty good job of getting through their set list, playing eleven songs (seven originals, four covers.

Lickerish set list
Killing Floor
Cold World
Ain't Too Proud to Beg
I'm Tore Down
Drive Me Crazy
Hard to Handle
Change My Mind

All in all, it was a good set from this Long Beach band. The sound was good, the energy was good and the crowd was into them. I would give one bit of advice though. Your original songs are really good. I wouldn't mind seeing you minimize the cover songs to play more of your originals.

Then came Rod Piazza and The Mighty Flyers. At the beginning of their set, Rod came to the stage in a bright yellow suit and played a harmonica solo. After a couple minutes, he was joined by the drummer. Then came the piano player and guitarist. Finally the two saxophone players came to the stage. They cooked from the first note. They finished their first song and I thought, "Where do they go from here?"

I needn't have worried about that. They cooked through their whole set. And that's not just a turn of phrase. The temperature in the room actually seemed to rise when The Mighty Flyers were on stage. Aside from the ability to make room temperatures rise, there is something else unusual about The Mighty Flyers. They are the first band I've ever seen where the keyboard player is a part of the rhythm section. Instead of a bass guitar, this band features the bass lines of the keyboard.

At one point during the set, everyone left the stage except for the keyboard player and the drummer. That was incredible. I've never seen anyone play the keyboards like her. That was probably the hottest number of the whole set, which is saying something. 

All three bands put on a great show, and I would go and see each of them again. Orange County, if you missed this show…too bad. It was a good one. 


Visit the official Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers homepage

Visit the official Lickerish homepage

Visit the official Savage City homepage

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Metallica To Do Rare Unplugged Show- Unreleased Tom Petty Song Streaming Online- Avenged Sevenfold M Shadows Reveals Good News Following Surgery- We Came As Romans- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.