Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

Islands - Return to the Sea Review

by Jordan Rodgers

This was supposed to be the first great album of 2006, but the actual finished product falls a bit below expectations. Islands, if you didn't know, is fronted by former Unicorn Nick Diamonds. The Unicorns, if you didn't know, were one of the greatest pop bands of the new millennium, and their album Who Will Cut Our Hair When We're Gone was an utter masterpiece of contorted pop. Unfortunately, this new album is not a masterpiece, though it does provide some interesting music.

It's difficult to take Islands' new disc Return to the Sea on its own terms, and keep from comparing it with the Unicorns' work. It most certainly is a different beast… less focused on unbridled melodic fun and sarcastic humor, this album is more concerned with presenting a coherent musical whole. That's not to say that this album isn't fun: song titles such as "Don't Call Me Whitney, Bobby" and "Where There's a Will There's a Whalebone" merely hint at the fun and mischief evident in this album's music. But it's decidedly less so than anything the Unicorns ever did, and this is far more serious music. The album opener, "Swans (Life After Death)" is at once the best example of this and the crowning achievement of the album. Clocking in at over 9 minutes, the song resembles Interpol's longer, more brooding tracks (especially "The New") than anything in the Unicorns oeuvre. But it is brilliant: led by liquid bass lines and a chugging drum beat into a shimmery guitar-led chorus, the song remains just on the verge of explosion.

Unfortunately, this is the only really new success that Islands is able to achieve. The album's other good songs (most notably "Rough Gem" and "Where There's a Will There's a Whalebone") mostly ape the Unicorns' former successes, and none of them really exceed their inspirations. There is nothing here to really compare with the irresistible breakdown of "Tuff Ghost" or the wonderfully violent opening riff of "Inoculate the Innocuous." The rest of the album is filled with somewhat interesting pieces that are ultimately failures: songs like "Humans," "Volcanoes," and "If" are too long for the ideas contained in them and become boring. The melodic sense of the album is never consistent, as it was for the Unicorns - good melodies will surface here and there, but their appearance is the exception rather than the rule. Also, Diamonds' voice, which worked well as a humorous counterpoint to the melodic apocalypse of the Unicorns, fails here as a leading instrument to a more straightforward and self-conscious music.

Ultimately, this is an interesting album, and "Swans" by itself shows that Islands has potential to create great music. But, they have not completely left the admittedly large shadow of their predecessors, and perhaps when they can establish their own identity they will fulfill their great promise.

CD Info and Links

Islands - Return to the Sea

Label:Rough Trade Records

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Journey's Steve Perry New Album Details Revealed- Lindsey Buckingham Announces Post Fleetwood Mac Tour- Megalife: The Autobiography Of Nick Menza Set For Release- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.