Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Homemade Knives - No One Doubts The Darkness Review

by Patrick Muldowney

No matter how objective one likes to convince himself he is, there are always situations to test one's mettle. This became an internal struggle for me as I acquainted myself with Homemade Knives and No One Doubts the Darkness, their new album. Wil Loyal just happens to have a similar voice to a terrible band from my past called The Screamin' Jimmies, which resulted in adverse twitches from my subconscious. Thankfully, my rational self made me listen until those old taste buds waned, and I was no longer blind to the quality of this disc.

Considering how foggy my previous reference to Wil Loyal's voice was, let's put that into focus first. Loyal has a southern twang that tends to draw out syllables like many of the acoustic, roots-friendly singers who were influenced by grunge. Think of all the people who listened to newer Alice In Chains, then progressed toward bands like Train and Sister Hazel. That's the continuum on which you will find Wil Loyal. Conclusion: Loyal has a good voice, but more important is that lyrically and musically Homemade Knives offers more than the most recent successes referenced.

The best minute of the album is not even listed as a song, yet, in its untitled state, the one-minute introduction of piano, xylophone, and acoustic guitar sets the perfect mood. Homemade Knives is not about dynamics and tempo shifts. No One Doubts the Darkness is for the sweet, the thoughtful, and the ones who appreciate uncovering beauty. It is not a product for hedonists seeking immediate gratification. As the instrumental shifts seamlessly into "The Ocean Drinks the Sun", it is easy to appreciate the deep pool of sounds featured in the music. From the seldom used xylophone on the first track, Homemade Knives poignantly includes violin and mandolin on "The Ocean…" Deviating from the standard fare instrumentally is common practice on this album, but this is consistently done in a fluid, comforting manner. Somehow the four-piece located nine tasteful musicians to complement them well in the studio.

The songs on No One Doubts… generally revolve around relationships of the romantic notion, which seem to be the oldest subject in the book, yet the natural imagery and similes Loyal narrates are creatively constructed. "Anyone At All", an optimistic love ballad, tells Caroline to "lay down lazily for awhile. And cut that silly string tied through your spine. You're too easily pulled away." As Loyal's voice blends faultlessly with the female backing vocals, it becomes clear that Caroline has a little problem with infidelity, and he is counting on her word. Not quite the theme song for our patriarchal society.

No southern fried approach would be complete without sliding on some steel guitar, and popping in some banjo. That is why "Saltwater Shoes" is the best song on the disc. This is the song that made me want this review. The rhythm section becomes more pronounced. Wil Loyal's voice immediately works, regardless of previous biases. The song has a pressing need to be heard, with a hope for survival regardless of previous situations. "Saltwater Shoes" is the song you will use to introduce Homemade Knives to others, because it is a portal to their identity.

No One Doubts the Darkness is a damn good album. In arranging the tracks, the band members did a nice job of book-ending their selections so that listeners embrace the beginning and the end. The best story would also have a middle. This is where Homemade Knives, while maintaining an adequate quality, becomes a bit unseasoned. "Tiny Anchor" and "Hold On" are minor speed bumps for an otherwise ecstatic review, and certainly no reason not to like No One Doubts the Darkness in all its glory.

CD Info and Links

Homemade Knives - No One Doubts The Darkness

Label:Triple Stamp

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Metallica To Do Rare Unplugged Show- Unreleased Tom Petty Song Streaming Online- Avenged Sevenfold M Shadows Reveals Good News Following Surgery- We Came As Romans- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.