Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Hey Tiger - September Review

by Ashleigh Hill

Hey Tiger - They Swing, They…

Remember the 90's female-fronted-ska-band era? So does Hey Tiger (minus the horns and bad suits). Just like bands of that period, it's either a hit or a total miss. Oddly, Hey Tiger has achieved both ends. September starts off with the pseudo-rock "I Don't Mind" in which female front Christina Alessi shows off her vocal strength. But little else shines through; guitars, drums, and lyrics are completely textbook. In fact, if it wasn't for Alessi's voice the song would just be average. "Fate" takes a catchier step towards good music. The band is still Exhibit-A for "How to be a Rock Band", but there's not necessarily anything wrong with that. There's just not very much right with it either. With "Ring" Hey Tiger reaches the standard slow song that always follows two harder ones, but by this point the disk hasn't really satisfied the listener enough to slow down. However, the mix of drums and electric guitar prove likable.

"Where I've Been" deserves repeating because of the addictive electric guitar, and Hey Tiger should have started the CD out with this track. In fact, just fast forward to this track every time, it's where the originality begins. "Simply" is a little too slow, however some of the best lyrics appears here ("so you took my hand and distributed it evenly…keeping negativity and any enemies out of our way"). Lyrically and musically intriguing, Elizabeth finally shows some variety. By far the best cut on the album; Hey Tiger seems to wait until the middle of September to illustrate their potential. Ever listen to a CD and think, "why is this song even on here?" That would be the first part of September; the second half fares much, much better. The "Friend" piano solo encourages arm and shoulder movement, and it's surprising that the band waits this long to effectively use the instrument. A sad and sweet (but not too sweet) ballad, "Overdrawn" is the perfect song to end on. The vocals match the model rock tune to a T, and Hey Tiger finishes by transcending "textbook" and accomplishing "classic".

It's virtually impossible to turn off September due to Alessi's sultry vocals; still the music could be superior and, according to the latter part of September, the band is obviously aware of this. It's confusing as to why the first few songs are the first few songs, however if you ever enjoyed Letters to Cleo (or Kay Hanley) or Save Ferris, Hey Tiger's September is a big hit.

CD Info and Links

Hey Tiger - September


Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Foo Fighters Jam With Red Hot Chili Peppers Star- Minus The Bear Announce Farewell Tour and Final EP- The Moody Blues' John Lodge Announce Solo Tou - more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.