Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Cue The Doves - Architectures of the Atmosphere Review

by Rob Nipe

Oh boy.

I guess I should start with a test to see if you even want to go on with the review. Don't worry; it is only one question and a relatively easy one at that. On a scale of one to ten, how do you feel about aliens? Because that is what this album is about. I mean ALL about. So, if you're a little iffy on aliens and don't think that it belongs in your CD collection or maybe you got enough of the whole space/alien thing with David Bowie's Space Oddity, you may want stop reading and pass on the CD. If you're still interested, read on…

The thing about having a concept album is that it is a safe bet that you will alienate (pun intended) some of your listeners. The majority of bands considering a concept album wouldn't have their first album be one. And aliens? I mean, come on! I feel like it is karaoke for the IT department but with songs that are being made up on the spot. Apparently, these songs draw from the works of Ray Bradbury but while Mr. Bradbury's work remains highly regarded works of fantasy (his word not mine), Cue the Doves attempt to distill the ideas contained in the stories into three minute songs is very heavy handed. The worst of the bunch is "The Balance". This song-like the rest of the songs-tries to convey the sense of otherworldliness. Basically, they have two tricks with which to do so-guitars laden with effects and lyrics that spell out everything as plainly as possible for the listener. "The lights from the sky are falling/ The lights from the sky are falling/ This is not what I expected/ The lights from the sky are falling/ They're taking me home taking me home." And then, get this… "I'm not human." The first part is repeated so many times that I just can't believe that the point isn't really clear long before we even get to the "I'm not human." It was at that point that I felt the sharp crack of being hit over the head.

Luckily, my head injury rendered the rest of the album relatively enjoyable because I couldn't focus enough to listen to the lyrics. This album isn't for everyone but they carry enough indie cred with former member of Beautiful Mistake that just enough people might be willing to listen to them, keeping them around for another album. It is going to be about Big Foot. I can't wait. "The woods are calling/ I don't wear pants/ This isn't what I expected/ I've got big feet."

CD Info and Links

Cue The Doves - Architectures of the Atmosphere

Label:Dead Letter Records

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Foo Fighters Jam With Red Hot Chili Peppers Star- Minus The Bear Announce Farewell Tour and Final EP- The Moody Blues' John Lodge Announce Solo Tou - more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.