Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

with Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
Transcendence - Nothing Is Cohesive

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck is a veteran syndicated music critic, his reviews appear in over 35 publications world-wide. To read more of Keith’s work visit

Transcendence - Nothing Is Cohesive

The new Transcendence album Nothing Is Cohesive, their third release, is my own personal throwback to what is sacred, the music of the 60s and 70s. Ok, its 2005, I know, but you have to hear this band to understand the entire picture. They rock, no doubt about it, and they do it in such a way that you cannot resist them; you will like this band's sound. Ed Hale is a superb vocalist, sounding very much like the enigmatic U2 front man Bono at times throughout the recording. 

Transcendence said a mouthful when they titled their new CD Nothing Is Cohesive. In the world we live in, one never knows what is going to happen from one minute to the next. As we become more and more unpredictable as a human race, the world that surrounds us becomes less cohesive. Look at the CD cover; it is swirling masses of color traveling in different  directions, which is not exactly an image that projects cohesiveness.

I found it interesting how they ended the album with the title track. It is an instrumental highlighted by some tasteful avant-garde keyboards. The entire album rolls right along with evocative lyrics ("Somebody Kill the DJ" & "Bored") then ends in an unusual fashion with a track like that. Proving once again that Nothing Is Cohesive, just when you expect a certain outcome, it all changes, viola! There is the concept of the album. Transcendence is one of the unsung rock bands of our generation, grinding it out day after day, and releasing quality music consistently every time they get together to record.

I love this band; their name is perfect because they transcend time and the barriers we throw up for protection. Just listen to one song and you are theirs, well at least for 45-60 minutes you are. The Beatles are an obvious influence in their sound, and that is but one element found in their sound and approach. The production aspects are notable in this fine effort as well. This is a band with one foot in the past musically and the other is right in today. They are on top of their game in today's ultra competitive independent music scene. The "Revolution In Me" makes me want to hear this CD again and again.

CD info and links

Label: TMG Records

01. Intro
02. Somebody Kill the DJ
03. I Wanna Know Ya
04. Intro
05. Tomorrow
06. Caetano
07. Come On
08. All This is Beginning To Feel Like An Ending
09. Revolution In Me
10. Cleopatra Ecstasy
11. Outro
12. Softening
13. Bored
14. If Your Baby Could
15. Nothing is Cohesive

Preview/ Purchase this CD online

Home Page

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Avenged Sevenfold Answer Backlash With New Version Of 'Mad Hatter'- Metallica Make Chart History With Blockbuster Album- Beatles Expanding The White Album- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.