Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Seether - Karma And Effect Review
by Dustin Hupe

Seether, from South Africa, may be known for their post grunge metal sound or maybe (frontman) Shaun Morgan's relationship with Evanescence singer Amy Lee. If you're one of the tabloid types then you might be interested in the latter, but lets stick to the music for now. Seether fills it's songs with semi depressing, self loathing lyrics like the ones found in just about every grunge song you've ever heard. Quite possibly because Shaun loves Nirvana and idolized Kurt Cobain and even sounds a little like him. If you've ever heard his cover of "You Know You're Right" you know what I'm talking about.

Karma and Effect is a follow-up to the Disclaimer II album which was a re-release of their first album Disclaimer. It's a well thought out and performed album overall, with heavy rhythm, great riffs, and well thought out drumming. This album is heavier and more melodic than the last and the lyrics are angry and seem to reveal some of Shaun's insecurities. But if you're not into cussing in your music, you'll be glad to know that the language is pretty mild even though one of the songs "I'm The One" deals with an adult situation using the lyrics "and now he's touching her wrong again, he's gonna give her disease", never the less it's still one of my favorite songs on the disk.

Track 5 "Burrito" really has nothing to do with burritos at all but it's still a very cool song. And even though the track listing has thirteen songs listed there is a bonus track of the band doing a song in another language. I found the English translation and it basically says, we hope you enjoyed the cd, come with us we want a beer.

So all in all this is a really great album, showing that the band has come a long way in the short time they have been together. If you need some type of proof or an added push, just turn on your local rock radio station and eventually you'll hear the song "Remedy". And even though it's a radio single, it still kicks much ass as does the rest of the album.

CD Info and Links

Seether - Karma And Effect


Track Listing:
1. Because Of Me
2. Remedy
3. Truth
4. Gift
5. Burrito
6. Given
7. Never Leave
8. World Falls Away
9. Tongue
10. I'm The One
11. Simplest Mistake
12. Diseased
13. Plastic Man
14. Secret Song - (hidden track)

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


News Reports
Day in Rock:
Metallica and Foo Fighters Lead Chris Cornell Tribute Concert Lineup- Fleetwood Mac Postpone Shows Over Stevie Nicks Illness- Joe Perry Gives Health Update Following Hospitalization- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock

. .


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.