Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Kaddisfly - Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You A Unicorn Review
by Eric Bodrero

Kaddisfly's Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You A Unicorn is recommended for those who may suffer from ADHD, as this album hits a cornucopia of different genres, including indie rock, prog rock, alternative emo, punk, hard rock, metal, and classic rock, among others, but never sits still long enough for you to really be able to describe its sound.

The opener "La Primera Natural Disaster" sounds like it belongs in the middle of some ten-minute epic somewhere in the middle of the album, but is by no means the consistent sound throughout the record. Jarring guitars, off-kilter vocal harmonies, quirky but well played piano jaunts with a tinge of xylophone, and (gasp!) handclaps, are just a few of the types of things to be found throughout this almost seventy minute album.

What Kaddisfly does best however is in orchestrating these musical elements and piecing them all together via crystal clean production to create a musical opus that at first may be hated then loved, or loved then hated, but with so many genres and effects happening from track to track, it's hard not to love something about this record.

To be fair however, some of these tracks drag on forever without really going anywhere, and could turn off the casual alternative or emo fan. The record could have used come culling to focus this band's sound into a tighter fit. For example, the ten and a half minute experimental "Horses Galloping On Sail Boats" is a lengthy song, especially for prog/indie/alternative/classic rock. This songs serves as a kind of grand finale of experimental sounds, and we hear just about everything this band can muster up, from melancholic piano solo's and spoken word, to the signature smashing guitar licks and almost white noise driven fuzz.

But it works so well! I really could write another three thousand words filled with every adjective in the book to describe Kaddisfly's sound, but this is one of those records that absolutely must be listened to to understand. With continually shifting guitar and bass hooks, piercing then subdued vocal styles, quirky musical elements, and sounds from everyone from Coheed and Cambria and Styx to Jimmy Eat World and Korn, this is one album you won't soon forget, and garners a spot on my rather extensive list of albums of the year.

CD Info and Links

Kaddisfly - Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You A Unicorn


Track Listing:
1. La Primera Natural Disaster
2. Message To The Flat Earth Society
3. Calm Of Calamity
4. Crimson Solitude
5. Eres Tremulent
6. New Moon Over Swift Water
7. Let Weight Be Measured By Merit
8. Akira
9. For The Ejection Of Rest; They'll Dance
10. Osmosis In C
11. What Comes Of Honesty
12. Five Tears From A Carpenter's Eye For Detail
13. Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You A Unicorn
14. Set Sail The Prarie
15. Horses Galloping On Sail Boats

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


News Reports
Day in Rock:
Fleetwood Mac React To Lindsey Buckingham Lawsuit- Foo Fighters Jam With 10-Year-Old Goes Viral- Steve Perry Hits The Top 10 With New Album-Megadeth's Dave Mustaine- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock

. .


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.