Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
DJ Spooky & Dave Lombardo - Drums of Death Review
by Morley Seaver

I have to admit I had never heard anything by DJ Spooky before this (although I see his name in project after project). However, the prospect of him linking up with Dave Lombardo, the drummer of Slayer, was definitely intriguing. Then I heard Chuck D was involved…OK, what up?

This is an interesting collaboration between some top notch musicians with some creative spins on things. DJ Spooky (Paul Miller) is a tireless creative force with many projects that he seems to just spin out effortlessly, not stopping to reflect but rather already leap-frogging onto the next challenge. Lombardo is, of course, recognized as a premier drummer of death metal, anchoring Slayer and his own Grip Inc. for many years. He has also worked with other artists like John Zorn who is a jazz musician that dabbles in both rock and opera.

Guests on this set include the legendary Chuck D of Public Enemy, and Vernon Reid, ex of Living Colour. Playing bass and co-producing the set is Jack Dangers of Meat Beat Manifesto. Another rapper, Dalek, does vocals on several cuts.

An electronic alien-signal precedes the booming voice of Chuck D on one of the three PE covers, "Brother's Gonna Work It Out". With all respect to the Bomb Squad, the song just sizzles with the percolating production. Vernon Reid sizzles on the next two cuts showing all that he hasn't lost a step while toiling in the background for the last few years.

It's really not until Track 7, "Kultur Krieg" that we see why Lombardo was considered for this project. He starts off with some fast high-hat before coming back with that smack that Slayer fans know and love. His tom work sounds like a meteor shower of fast balls coming into a catcher's mitt, steady and pounding, with occasional energetic roll.

Chuck sounds hot on "B-Side Wins Again". Finally, the promised "Drums of Death" rear their lovely heads on "Incipit Zarathustra". This is a duel between Lombardo and DJ Spooky and Dave cranks up the energy level on this one big-time. Amidst changing time signatures, tom and hi-hat become one and jazz and rock are blurred.

"The Art of War" finds the tremendously talented Mr. Reid tossing off some fuzz/delay guitar drones that are the highlight of that song. The heavy rock of "Terra Nullius" jars coming on the jazz-ish tones of the previous song. "Public Enemy #1" like the others benefit from the torqued up (and not so muddied) production.

There is a lot to like about this record, even though there is less of what the title proclaims. There isn't really anything that doesn't work on Drums of Death, but there are a couple of cuts that just meander along. Fans of DJ Spooky and electronic stuff have not been overly kind to the record but for the other side of the concert hall, the heavier rock fans like me think it's pretty good.

CD Info and Links

DJ Spooky & Dave Lombardo - Drums of Death

Label:Thirsty Ear Recordings

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Sammy Hagar Supergroup The Circle Finish New Album- Guns N' Roses Hit New Milestone With Classic Video- Pink Floyd Stream First Official Video To Feature David Gilmour- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.