Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

with Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck
DJ Monkey - Another Evolution

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck is a veteran syndicated music critic, his reviews appear in over 35 publications world-wide. To read more of Keith’s work visit

DJ Monkey - Another Evolution

I think the title of this album is perfect. Another Evolution is most certainly descriptive of the music provided by DJ Monkey on this CD.  This talented group of individuals, and I stress individuals, come together and blend their multitude of talents together to create one of the coolest most diverse mixtures of jazz, rock, rap and spoken word that you are bound to hear.

I felt compelled to listen to this CD repeatedly. The music is superb and the ongoing barrage of lyrical assaults against the status quo proves to cut much deeper than just a quick shot in the foot. These deeply thought out lyrics are felt wholeheartedly and believed by those that sing them. I can agree to one prolific passage from “Big Oil.” Here is their ode to big government-“Democrats, Republicans, what’s the f***ing difference? They’re all puppets or whores.” It is so true. This is music with no boundaries musically and lyrically and that is what makes its so appealing across the board. You find the heartbeat of the people and the tension of the bustling streets of the city on this disc, the feeling and atmosphere of that energy is all over the place on this recording. I just came back from spending three days in NYC so it was easy for me to relive that atmosphere and energy through this music.

This is when rap can have a meaning, an existence beyond the music itself. I think the execution of the music and lyrics as separate entities, yet their ability to make it a cohesive unit in the same instance, is what makes this such an incredible experience for the listener. This brilliant work of art is a necessity for any one that can appreciate the truth about life, good music, and artisans with enough moxie to make it all happen on one CD.

CD info and links

Label: 7 Records Musi

01. 5th Avenue Jam  (2:31)
02. U-Boat (3:27)
03. Beatnik  (3:27)
04. Too Cool (4:13)
05. Hollywood & Vine  (2:55)
06. My Life Is  (3:39)
07. Big Oil  (3:26)
08. Messages (3:16)
09. No One Speaks (1:37)
10. Raindance (3:06)
11. Boomerang (4:28)
12. Jerusalem  (4:11)

Preview/ Purchase this CD online

Home Page

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Journey's Neal Schon Wants To Work With Steve Perry Again- Serj Tankian Addresses System Of A Down Issues- Jack White Does Rockin' Jam With Pearl Jam- Rolling Stones- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.