Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds
Clare Quilty - Face the Strange Review
by Morley Seaver

This is a solid set of songs from Clare Quilty with their third record, Face the Strange. This is a thinking man (womans?) pop/rock music that takes a while to sink in. The first few times I played it, it was just OK. The more I played it, the more I liked it. (Then again, maybe…regrettably…I'm not a thinking man)

The music leans toward trip-hop territory but the vocals are sung not rapped so there goes that category. Singer Jenn Rhubright doesn't sing as much as lets the notes flow from her, almost as though she speaks that way…not vocalizes. There is a laid-back delivery and quality to the music that almost suckers you into complacency. Those that stick with it, though, will be well rewarded.

The first cut, "Sad Untitled #1" slow-sambas its way out of the speakers with an almost hypnotic gait that seems like it's a cobra doing the swaying motion to paralyze you before striking. There's a Suzanne Vega vibe to it somehow, as well if you can extrapolate those two launching points.

One of the best cuts on the record is "Breathe". Another mesmerizing rhythm percolates along before awakening for the fine chorus. "Numb", the follow-up, is almost pixie-ish (as in cute and earnest, not the band) in its delivery.

"Beautiful Lies" is in the running for the standout cut. It's a bit more straightforward than the others, and it has a nice bit of Pink Floyd "Breathe"-type guitar throughout.

The rest of the cuts alternate between mid-tempo rockers and electro-tinged groove-fests. The lyrics are all above the norm, as they are rife with good description; "A nest of fine pink desert sand in the hollow of my chest", "The hunger that's in your eyes intoxicates my dread".

The only cut that, to my ears, didn't work was the cover of Bowie's "Rebel Rebel". They slowed it right down and made it seem like a lethargic shadow of its former self.

Included in the package is a second CD with remixes to three or four of the cuts.

Clare Quilty, by the way, is a character from the novel/movie, "Lolita". Sleepy, unassuming and deceptive. This record will sneak up on you, if you give it a chance.

CD Info and Links

Clare Quilty - Face the Strange


Track Listing:
1. Sad Untitled #1
2. Tormented Artist
3. Breathe
4. Numb
5. Tremble
6. Beautiful Lies
7. Rebel, Rebel
8. Sister
9. 810
10. Glitterbug
11. Tire Me
12. Tremble - (Pink Noise remix)

1. Secret Sharer - (Pink Noise remix)
2. Tremble - (Dex Dubious Edit remix)
3. Breathe - (Dex Dubious Edit remix)
4. 8x10 - (Stroud remix)
5. Tremble - (Smitty And Davenport mix)
6. Tremble - (Cruz And Bagz remix)
7. Tremble - (Moda's Fear Nothing remix)
8. Tremble - (Dex Dubious remix)
9. Breathe - (Stroud remix)
10. Breathe - (John Anthony remix)
11. Breathe - (Dex Dubious remix)
12. Breathe - (Dex Dubious Radio Edit)

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


News Reports
Day in Rock:
Ozzy Osbourne Reveals Extent Of Injury Following Surgery- Surviving Original Static-X Lineup Reunite For Album and Tour- Slipknot Announce Live Dates For Next Summer- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock

. .


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.