Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

Sonic Youth - Goo [Deluxe Edition] Review

by Jordan Rodgers

Sonic Youth are one of the true gods of independent rock of the last 20 years. Like their towering ancestors, the Velvet Underground, SY has made a career out of mixing straight rock and roll music and free-form noise into ever newer and more creative forms, creating an incredibly diverse body of work that now includes over 15 full-length albums. Goo, the first of Sonic Youth's major label releases, is now 15 years old, and has been re-released in a 2-disc deluxe edition.

Goo is an odd entry in Sonic Youth's oeuvre, appearing as their major label debut after the epic breakthrough of their two most highly regarded albums, Sister and Daydream Nation. Those two records had found a perfect balance between the arty, angular noise of their earlier recordings and the more straightforward rock structures of their later work. So, it is difficult to see Goo outside of the shadow of those two masterpieces - it feels very much like a transition album, coming down off of a recent climax. The infamous opening track, "Dirty Boots," promises more than this - it is the masterpiece of the album, and a real indication of SY's newfound ability to rock out. It's a pity, really, because the rest of the album cannot possibly measure up. "Tunic" seems very much like a rehash (and an inferior one at that) of Daydream Nation tracks such as "The Sprawl," and "Mary-Christ," in both form and content, seems to ape Sister's more successful "Catholic Block." None of these tracks are bad, really, but they are uneven, and uninspired. The noise passages of the album (particularly the ending of the 8-minute "Mote") seem tossed off and poorly integrated, as if the Youth put them there just for the sake of having a little noise. The exceptions to this unevenness are the propulsiveness and bizarre harmonics of the beginning movement of "Mote," and the trancelike "Disappearer." But, while the album has its successes, it ultimately has too much baggage to be considered one of the better Sonic Youth albums.

For long-time Sonic Youth fans, though, all this is old news. The question is, does the quite large amount of extra material presented here make this a worthy purchase? The answer will depend on how fanatical you are about this band. The real treasure here is the first two-thirds of the second disc, which are the widely bootlegged early demos of the Goo sessions. They are, for the most part, longer and slower than their more polished counterparts, and while they are interesting in getting a sense for Sonic Youth's development during this period, they are not particularly great music in themselves. The highlight is most likely "Blowjob (Mildred Pierce)," clocking in at over four times the length of the recorded version. The rest of the deluxe edition's extras are less interesting… the cover of the Beach Boys' "I Know There's An Answer" is mildly amusing as is the advertisement piece "Goo Interview Flexi," but for the most part this stuff hasn't been released before for a reason.

So, is this worthy of a purchase? In the long run: probably not. The Sonic Youth fanatic that wants everything the band has ever released will, of course, snatch it up right away. But, for the casual Sonic Youth fan, having the original version of Goo will certainly suffice, and for the completely uninitiated there is far too much here that will not interest them at all. In general, what's new here doesn't justify the higher price tag. Just buy the original album instead.

CD Info and Links

Sonic Youth - Goo [Deluxe Edition]

Label:Geffen Records

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Metallica To Do Rare Unplugged Show- Unreleased Tom Petty Song Streaming Online- Avenged Sevenfold M Shadows Reveals Good News Following Surgery- We Came As Romans- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.