Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

David Pack - The Secret of Movin' On Review

by Morley Seaver

David Pack first was lodged in the public consciousness when he was part of the trio Ambrosia in the mid '70s and early '80s. With them he had a string of hits like "How Does It Feel", "Biggest Part of Me", "You're the Only Woman" and "Holdin' On To Yesterday". He went to contribute a truck load of music to various soundtracks and for other artists. Along the way he picked up some production skills and now is in demand for duties on the other side of the board.

Poor David. He couldn't find any help for his new record. All he could dig up was Ann Wilson (Heart), Dewey Bunnell (America), Timothy B. Schmidt (Eagles), Steve Perry (ex-Journey) and Vinnie Colaiuta on drums. He got Bernie Taupin to do cover art. Wow. Must be nice to have friends. It's not one of those affairs where the star hides behind the glossy trimmings, however. Pack plays guitar and keyboard on almost all cuts as well as producing all but one cut (which was co-produced).

The title track is up first and features the awesome vocals of Ann Wilson. It is a modest entrance to the record and Pack and Wilson sound great together. The next cut "Vertical Disbelief" sounds like Steely Dan with brassier vocals. Strangely, he covers the Ambrosia song here, "Biggest Part of Me". He wrote it so obviously he has the right to do it but it sounds close to the original to me (maybe crossed with a bit of Hall and Oates) so why bother? Odder still, is another Ambrosia cut, "You're the Only Woman". It's funkier (just slightly) than the original, though and it sounds great.

"Tell Her Goodbye" featuring Dewey Bunnell is an excellent cut. "A Brand New Start" is exceptional. Steve Perry guests on backing vocals and this is where Pack sounds the best. Perhaps Mr. Perry brought out the competitive spirit in him. Another winner is "When Your Love Was Almost Mine" where Pack's vocals are just great. "Where We Started From" with Timothy B. Schmidt continues the streak of good material.

"Everlasting" with vocal help from Stacey Hymes is a strong cut that approaches CSNY territory. The last two cuts are songs dedicated to his daughters. "Think of U (Song for Kaitlyn)" is pleasant as is "Elizabeth".

This is a great record with the exception of the last two cuts which was just OK. Pack has never sounded better and the songs are all high quality. In terms of Adult Contemporary, this should put him at the….I'm sorry, I just have to say it….head of the Pack.

CD Info and Links

David Pack - The Secret of Movin' On

Label:Peak Records

Preview and Purchase This CD Online

Visit the official homepage

More articles for this artist

tell a friend about this review


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Black Sabbath Star Reacts To Ozzy's Bad Vibes Comments- Slipknot May Make Knotfest A Touring Festival- Ace Frehley Streams New Song and Announce Special TV Appearance- more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.