Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

by Keavin Wiggins 
& antiGUY

Five Star: A look at albums that are so good that they impress even the most cynical of critics. Very few albums are superior enough to obtain a five star rating but occasionally a band slips through the river of mediocrity that is the modern music industry and they produce an album that restores our faith in the future of rock! This series is a look at such albums. 

Let's face it--5 star albums don't come out every month! So from time to time we will take a look back and revisit some of the five star albums of the past that you may have missed the first time around. This month we take a look at the album that landed our "Album of the Year" honors in 2001, "Underneath the Surface" from PrimeSTH.  Some who have actually heard the album have gone as far as calling it "a perfect album" and that's not far off the mark. This is an incredible collection of songs from a phenomenal band. Sadly, their American label--Giant Records--really dropped the ball with this one. This album contained potential hit after hit but the label just didn't have the muscle to get this band noticed. 

PrimeSTH are back at it again, they are free from their deal with Giant and are looking to find a new label that will give them the push that they deserve. It's an opportune time to repost this review since the band will be in the US this spring showcasing for various labels. Let's hope that someone is smart enough to sign these guys up and then make them the stars they deserve to be! We hope to catch up with them at one of their US shows for a new special feature but until then you can still pick up a copy of "Underneath The Surface" to see what all the fuss is about. A link to purchase the CD online follows the review (just check out the fan reviews posted at the store and see that it isn't just us that love this band). 

Original Review 

by antiGUY

Note: I originally gave this CD a 4 1/2 star rating but I'm still playing it two years later and I have only grown more fond of it, it now carries the 5 star rating it originally deserved! -aG

Wondering where the new hotbed of rock is? You might be surprised when I say that it’s Sweden! That’s right-Sweden-the land of ABBA and Ace of Base. 2001 has given us a few exceptional rockin’ exports from that mysterious land of blond bombshells and great beer. On the heavier side of the spectrum we got two exceptional releases from Opeth and Lost Horizon, now on the alternative rock side we have a great new disc from Prime STH. 

PrimeSTH are the latest Swedish rock export to hit the U.S. shores. They come courtesy of Giant Records/Reprise and after listening to their U.S. debut it becomes quickly apparent how they attracted the attention of U.S. record labels. They have that melodic modern rock sound that put Bush on the map but they also delve into other areas like Industrial and straight ahead rock. 

The disc captured my attention and respect from the first moment. The guitar work on the opening track “Underneath The Surface” has a catchy groove that should endear the band to modern rock radio. What’s more impressive are the vocals; PrimeSTH’s lead singer Noa has a great modern rock sound that delivers power without having to resort to screaming. You only have to listen to the first three tracks to get hooked. The chorus to “I Don’t Envy You” is down right infectious. With the next track, “I’m Stupid” they take things down a notch and show that they are just as comfortable performing a ballad as the full out rockers. What can I say? The songs are hits without even trying to be. PrimeSTH may finally make amends to the world for those other Swedish exports ABBA and Ace of Base. 

CD Info 

PrimeSTH – Underneath The Surface
Underneath The Surface
I Don’t Envy You
I’m Stupid (Don’t Worry ‘Bout me)
In My Head
From the Inside
Even the Score (No One Else)
My Evil Friend
Let Me Bleed
24 Song
Listen to samples and Purchase this CD online

Want More?

tell a friend about this article

What Do You Think?

Fanspeak removed due to spam and abuse


News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Foo Fighters Jam With Red Hot Chili Peppers Star- Minus The Bear Announce Farewell Tour and Final EP- The Moody Blues' John Lodge Announce Solo Tou - more

• Day in Pop

• Yesterday's Day in Rock: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley


Search for Tickets

Or Browse For Tickets

Today's Rock News

• Ozzy Sets Home On Fire

• Santana, Neal Schon and Gregg Rolie Reunite at Journey Show

• Ted Nugent's Wife Arrested

• Iron Maiden Tops Billboard's Hot Tours Chart

• Pop Star Fergie Names Son After Guns N' Roses Frontman Axl Rose

• Jack White Recording New Songs With The Dead Weather

• Stone Temple Pilots with Chester Bennington Reveal EP Details

• The Who Releasing Massive Super Deluxe Edition of Tommy

• Paul McCartney Talks New Song and His Plans Never To Retire

• August Burns Red Announce Special Screening of Documentary

• The National Curating Grateful Dead Tribute Album

• KISS' Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons Announce Book Signings

• Mike Portnoy Reveals Full Progressive Nation At Sea Lineup

• Saxon's Biff Byford Explains Evil Look Was Down To Illness

• Astrid Kirchherr's Early Beatles Photos To Be Exhibited Next Month

• Gene Simmons and Engelbert Humperdinck Footage Goes Online

• Red Fang Streaming New Song ' Blood Like Cream' Online

• Sammy Hagar Compares Les Paul Guitars To Muscle Cars

• What Do Crocheting And Rock 'N' Roll Have In Common? Deap Vally

• Classic Rock Going Country

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News

• North Korea Reportedly Execute 12 Musicians

• Jay-Z Releases Holy Grail Video Featuring Justin Timberlake

• Big Sean in Fall Out Boy's New Video

• Thousands of Justin Timberlake Fans Flood 'Take Back The Night' Filming

• Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O Unplugs

• Miguel Covers Pink's Just Like A Pill

• Eric Church Going In A Different Direction With 'Chief' Follow Up

• Kip Moore Has Almost Finished New Album

• Juicy J Twerk Tweet Ends Up As Scholarship Competition

• Danny Brown's On Stage Sex Act Was Not Planned

• Bastille Trace The Best Of British Rock, Including Morrissey's Pompadour

• Singled Out: Dulcinea Renee's Pictures Of You

More News

anti Worthy Links
• The Screen Door • superLOUD • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter

New Mystery Book from
antiMusic's Dawn Marie Fichera!

Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.